FAW unveil domestic re-brand for top-two tiers

Top-two tiers re-named as they align as ‘Cymru Leagues’ ahead of new season.

The Football Association of Wales today unveiled its new re-branding package as part of its plans to closer align the top two tiers of the domestic game.

The Welsh Premier League will now become known as the JD Cymru Premier while the two feeder leagues – formerly known as the Cymru Alliance and Welsh League Division 1 – have been renamed JD Cymru North and JD Cymru South respectively.

Accompanying the announcement of the new naming of the leagues, the FAW also unveiled new logos for each competition along with a launch video featuring some of the competing clubs’ home grounds throughout Wales.

A press release from the FAW revealed more details about the new leagues new logos:

“A key component of the FAW’s brand identity, the daffodil, has previously been used to represent the 11 players of the national teams and will now be incorporated within the Cymru Leagues.

Seven daffodils, each representing one of the seven leagues of Welsh domestic football’s top three tiers, upon completion of the pyramid restructure, come together to form the striking ball logo.

The recent success of our domestic teams has captured the true Welsh spirit of supporters across the country. A radical departure from past identities, the modern logo reflects the modernisation of the new pyramid structure and the future ambitions of Welsh football.”

The new domestic season for all three divisions begins on Friday 16 August.

Article originally appeared on Dai-Sport.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s