The New Saints survive late onslaught to move top

The New Saints moved top of Cymru Premier League after surviving a late onslaught against Newtown.

Joe Kenton sparked a late surge of pressure from Newtown, but Saints stubbornly held onto their lead as they bounced back from their weekend’s Scottish Challenge Cup defeat.

The New Saints, without injured trio Simon Spender, Blaine Hudson and Jamie Mullan, led midway through the first period when Ryan Brobbel fired home a free-kick. Dean Ebbe converted Adrian Cieslewicz’s delivery to gave the hosts a 2-0 lead at the break.

Aeron Edwards spurned the chance to give The New Saints a three-goal lead when he blazed over from inside the box in the second-half before winger Kenton pounced to half the deficit with 15 minutes remaining.

Newtown attacked with renewed vigour in the closing stages in search of an equaliser.

Neil Mitchell fried wide from the edge of the area before Kenton saw a header cleared off the line by Chris Marriott, with Robins boss Chris Hughes left to reflect on what might’ve been.

The New Saints: 1 Paul Harrison, 3 Chris Marriott, 4 Keston Davies, 6 Jonathan Routledge, 7 Dean Ebbe (9 Greg Draper 81′), 8 Ryan Brobbel, 10 Daniel Redmond, 11 Adrian Cieslewicz (32 Billy Whitehouse 76′), 22 Kane Lewis, 23 Aeron Edwards (21 Kurtis Byrne 66′), 24 Ryan Harrington    

Newtown: 1 David Jones, 5 Kieran Mills-Evans, 6 Jay Denny (17 Sam Phillips 83′), 8 Nicky Rushton, 10 George Harry, 11 Joe Kenton, 16 Jack Thorn, 19 T. Craig Williams, 22 Niall Flint (7 Neil Mitchell 67′), 25 Jack Kelly, 26 Sam Barnes (15 Alun Morris 59′) 

Priestley Farquharson scored his first goal for Connah’s Quay as the Nomads maintained their unbeaten start to the season.

Farquharson pounced on 33 minutes after Ryan Wignall’s cross caused chaos in the Druids area.

The 22-year-old has cut an impressive figure in a Nomads shirt this season and he should’ve added a second in the second-half after he was unable to apply the finishing touches to Callum Roberts’ cross from the byline.

Cefn Druids were unable to find an equaliser despite late pressure as the Nomads notched a third-straight 1-0 win.

Connah’s Quay: 1 Lewis Brass, 3 Callum Roberts, 4 Priestley Farquharson, 5 George Horan, 6 Daniel Harrison, 8 Callum Morris, 9 Michael Wilde, 10 Jamie Insall (7 Michael Bakare 79′), 15 Daniel Holmes, 16 James Owen (12 Declan Poole 69′), 18 Ryan Wignall

Cefn Druids: 1 Michael Jones, 3 Naim Arsan, 6 Nathan Peate, 7 Matthew Owen, 9 Tyrone Ofori, 11 James Davies, 14 Ryan Kershaw (22 Arkadiusz Piskorski 89′), 16 Iwan Cartwright, 17 Ramirez Howarth (19 Cody Ruberto 73′), 27 Joash Nembhard (28 Pape Ibrahima Diakhite 33′), 32 Neil Ashton

Connah’s Quay 1-0 Cefn Druids, The New Saints 2-1 Newtown

Bangor 1-1 Flint Town United, Buckley 2-1 Llandudno, Colwyn Bay 1-1 Llanrhaeadr, Penrhyncoch 1-0 Corwen, Porthmadog 2-2 Llangefni Town, Rhyl 4-2 Ruthin Town.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s