Clearing Up The Confusion Around The FAW’s New Tier 3

The latest stage of the Football Association of Wales’ pyramid restructure was met with mixed reaction as the new third tier was officially unveiled yesterday.

A statement released by the FAW confirmed the alignment of the still yet-to-be-named league that will serve as a feeder league to the Cymru North and Cymru South and will sit above the new Tier 4 regional leagues.

64 teams were selected from a hopeful pool of 75 clubs, who satisfied Tier 3 requirements. Among those to miss out completely are former Welsh League champions Aberdare Town, who must now compete in Tier 4, despite earning a certificate.

The successfully selection clubs will compete across four geographically-named divisions of 16 teams – although, some might argue that would appear to have been the extent of the geographical influence.

At first glance, some of the decisions around club placement do indeed seem particularly odd. Saltney Town, (bordering Cheshire) and Brymbo, Brickfield Rangers, Llay Welfare and Rhostyllen (all on the outskirts of Wrexham) have all been assigned to the North West Division, whilst Penparcau and Bow Street (both outside Aberystwyth) were bemusing placed in the North East Division.

With no explanation behind the FAW’s decision-making process other than being ‘based on sporting merit and geographical location’, a clearer picture begins to emerge when the placing of the clubs in context of each division is considered.

The placements on the map clearly show that the North East League instead loosely represent clubs from the mid-Wales belt, while the North West League draws on clubs from the north-Wales coast region. And in fairness to the FAW the respective South West and South East Leagues do seem more clearly defined. Rhayader Town and Llandrindod Wells are slightly misplaced in the South East but this does allow for flexibility when new teams come into Tier 3 in forthcoming seasons and those clubs could potentially find themselves realigned over time.

The decision to name the four divisions geographically creates unnecessary confusion which could have been avoided by giving the divisions more suitable alternative titles.

With the official Tier 3 naming yet to be confirmed, is it not too late for the FAW to take a similar approach to the styling used by conferences in North American sports and name the divisions after former players from those regions? How about the Mitch Patton Division for the South West League, anyone?

At the least it would capture the imagination of the participating clubs and fans and allow for some positive PR and coverage – something yesterday’s unhelpful Tier 3 announcement failed to achieve.

2 thoughts on “Clearing Up The Confusion Around The FAW’s New Tier 3

  1. “Is it not too late for the FAW to take a similar approach to the styling used by conferences in North American sports.”
    To be fair I thought that was what they had done. I remember the NFL had New Orleans in the West division while the Indianapolis Colts are still in the South division.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s